Eco Sprout Laundry Detergent Saved My Cloth Diapers!

24 Jul

The following is a brief conversation between my hubby and myself.

Hubby: “You need to wash those diapers, they smell stink.”

Me: “I think they are smelling maybe because I took too long to wash them?”. ” I will wash them now”.

Hubby: A few days later, Honey ” something is wrong with those diapers, they are smelling, you need to wash them”.

By this point, I began to realize they were smelling even after being washed.  I was using Eco Sprout detergent and then decided to try another brand. Bad idea… to make a long story short, my diapers started smelling and developed yellow stains.

I stripped the diapers by running them through several hot washes with no detergent, did a vinegar rinse,  then put them out in the sun.  I continued to wash the diapers with the “other brand” but the problem just got worst. So out of desperation, I  stripped all my diapers again and then switched back to Eco Sprout detergent. I did a soak in the Eco Sprout and thank heavens the diapers started to smell clean again… just in time for our vacation.

We went on vacation and  I took some Eco Sprout with us. We vacationed in Florida which gave me the perfect opportunity to test how Eco Sprout works with hard water. I had no smelly issues at all and I couldn’t have being any happier. I am definitely sticking with Eco Sprout as my detergent.

Eco Sprout detergents are available at Natural Pure Essentials  http://www.naturalpureessentials.com/eco-sprout-soap.html

6 Responses to “Eco Sprout Laundry Detergent Saved My Cloth Diapers!”

  1. S. Jackson July 26, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I am confused. You were using Eco Sprout and they were smelling…so you switched to something else and they got worse…so you switched back to Eco Sprout and now they are great? Or was that a typo that you were using Eco Sprout to begin with? I use this detergent and love love love it! I would never wash my diapers in anything else 🙂 Makes my diapers clean, soft, and ammonia free!

    • naturalpureessentials July 26, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      I use Eco Sprout and love it but decided to sample another brand which made the diapers stinky so I switched back to using Eco Sprout.

  2. canine supplies July 26, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    That is really too bad. I can’t imagine having to go through that situation. Just be thankful that by the time you were going on a vacation you knew exactly what the problem was and you weren’t having the troubles away from home.

  3. Nasal Aspirators July 26, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    How are you liking cloth diapers anyway. I have always thought of cloth diapers as a thing of the past. I understand that you save a huge amount of money this way but how do they perform?

    • naturalpureessentials July 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      I love cloth diapering. I started using cloth diapering because my daughter was getting terrible diaper rash from the disposable diapers all the time. I am now cloth diapering my 2nd child. Cloth diapers perform way better than any disposables in my opinion…no more blows, diaper rash and as you said saves ton of money. For overnight, a doubler will enable to get more absorbency.

Leave a Reply

