Toddler Wants To Return To Co-Sleeping

12 Sep

My 3 years just out of nowhere started asking to sleep with mommy. She woke up last night begging to come into my bed. She has being sleeping by herself for the last 6 months without any problems and was even telling us that she is a big girl and can put herself to bed without our help 

Tonight while I was putting her sister to sleep, she started crying to sleep in my bed. I had to put the baby to sleep so I decided a good compromise would be to sing her one of her old favorites “your my sunshine” while I put both her and her sister to sleep. Of course, the baby fell asleep 1st and when I went to put the baby down, my toddler started crying again. I finally crawled into her bed, snuggled with her and assured her I would stay with her until she fell asleep. Memories of holding her as a baby flooded my mind and my heart melted…….Stop! “You did what …what are you doing,  you are not helping the situation”… says daddy. We know that she is feeling left out because of the baby and my heart says let her sleep with you but daddy says bad idea. I spent countless of hour with her as a baby rocking her to sleep but now with another baby it is quite hard to give her my undivided attention.  My heart says just let her sleep with you but that will cause a big upset in sleeping routines and I don’t think I am ready to deal with that. I feel very torn and my husband thinks I am just a pushover. I guess I will just stick to singing her to bed at nights until she is ready to be a” big girl again” and sleep without mommy and daddy’s help.

Leave a Reply

