Co-sleeping With My “Huggables”

23 Aug

I still remember the smell and feel my newborn baby girl cuddled up next to me after 3 years.  Right after she was born, we laid in bed skin to skin all snuggled up. Later we headed home and snuggled up in bed again. Well, it is no wonder that we are co-sleepers.   l love co-sleeping with my babies and despite what others may say; co sleeping is quite safe. In my opinion co sleeping is safer than sleeping in a cold isolated crib. So many times I hear moms say that their babies limbs got caught in the rails. Many people express concern that the mom is not aware of the baby and may roll onto the child. A co sleeping mom is quite aware of where her baby is. She naturally curls her body around the baby in a fetal and protective position which allows her to feel where the baby is. Co-sleeping is frowned upon in America but is quite normal in many countries and cultures. 

Things I Like About Co Sleeping

  1. Co-sleeping makes night-time nursing so much easier
  2. Allows me to monitor my baby at close range. Parents often rely on monitors as a way to check on their babies but a monitor will often not pick up subtle noises. Sleeping with your baby allows you to cue in on the baby sleeping behaviors so you can tell if something is wrong even when you are asleep. I woke up during the night once to find my 6 month old throwing up.  If she were in the crib next door, I wouldn’t have found out till hours later and who knows if she would have choke on her vomit.
  3. I sleep longer and better and I find it amazing that our sleep and waking cycles some how becomes synchronized. Also I don’t have to keep getting up in the middle of the night to go and check on her something working moms would probably appreciate.
  4. Helped my daughter transition to her own bed without any drama and bawling. She was able to move into her own room when she was ready which was age 2 1/2.
  5. The first beautiful face and smile I see is my daughter’s
  6. I get a lot of hugs at nights from my “huggables”
  7. I don’t have to worry about my child arm or leg getting caught in the crib rails

The draw back to co sleeping, the kids love to sprawl out in mama’s bed so I get only a little spot. Oh well, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 Responses to “Co-sleeping With My “Huggables””

  1. Stacy Hancock August 23, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    i used to swear i’d never cosleep because i couldn’t sleep with a kiddo in bed! when my son was born, that went out the window. i think cosleeping has made breastfeeding so much easier and we love it. so many precious moments i would have missed if we didn’t!

  2. Roana August 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    i used to swear i’d never cosleep because i couldn’t sleep with a kiddo in bed! when my son was born, that went out the window. i think cosleeping has made breastfeeding so much easier and we love it. so many precious moments i would have missed if we didn’t!
    +1

Leave a Reply

