Thieves essential oil and the flu season

13 Nov
Tea Tree Oil

Image via Wikipedia

Now that the winter season is coming and with it the flu, it is time to bring out the essential oils. Essential oils work wonders but make sure to read and understand the type oil you are using.  Some essentials oils should not be used while pregnant others should not be exposed to sunlight or might burn the skin if administered without being diluted.

The essential oils being given special attention this season are ones used to make thieves oil. It is a blend of clove, lemon, rosemary, cinnamon and eucalyptus oil. It was noted that during the bubonic plague, the thieves would rob the dead and sick without getting sick because they would rub themselves with these spices. There are different blends but all have these basic 5 oils.

I have a 6 week old baby and so when my husband and feel like we are getting sick, I get the oils going. I make my blend and put it in the essential oil diffuser. I  normally add 2-3 drops of each of the oil in the diffuser. Please note that these oils are very strong, so I set my diffuser to go off every 5-second then allow it to pause for 10 seconds. You can also rub the thieves on your neck and chest  but it must be diluted in a carrier oil first such as olive oil, almond or jojoba oil. I would use about a 1/4 cup of oil and 2 drops of each oil.  I also make a blend in vinegar and use it as a disinfectant for the room.

Leave a Reply

