potty training for cloth diaper mommies on vacation

24 Jul

We are trying to continue potty training while on vacation.  I was surprised that my daughter was willing to use the potty on the plane but refuses to use public toilets, clean or no clean. She told me once she wanted to potty when we were in the airport and I took her; when she saw the toilet’ she said all done, no wee wee.  Things I learn so far on how to travel for parents with access to a washing machine

  1. dress child in a diaper because you don’t know if he/she willl be willing to use public toilets. Bring extra for the road.
  2. Bring a potty on trips : take potty breaks and allow the child to potty. They are more willing to use their potty than toilets, just empty at rest stops
  3. Continue to use training pants when not on the road
  4. Remember toddlers get too excited sometimes to take potty breaks so gently remind them to use the potty
  5. Most of all don’t force the child to go to the potty if  he or she refuses or else you will have a tantrum and possibly regression.

Someone said don’t go back to diapers once you start potty training because the child will get confuse. That is not necessarily true. I think it all depends on the child. My daughter still tells me when she needs to use the potty even when she is in diapers. It all depends on your child so get to understand what they can comprehend and work with them.

3 Responses to “potty training for cloth diaper mommies on vacation”

  1. Deborah August 1, 2009 at 4:23 am #

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Deborah

    http://maternitymotherhood.net

  2. Susan August 4, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://toddlergirls.net

Leave a Reply

