My love affair with Essential Oils

15 Feb
This is part of a rosemary plant. Español: Una...

Image via Wikipedia

My love affair with essential oils began when my husband and I were researching how to treat swollen adenoids and tonsils without surgery. We kept seeing essential oils are great for getting rid of bacteria and infections which was causing the swelling….and is better than surgery. Hmmm are essentials oils that powerful I thought to myself.? So I  decided to learn more about them.

What are essentials Oils?

Essential oils are found or stored in different parts of plants. For example, lemon essential oil is extracted from the rinds from the peel, rose essentials oil is extracted from the flowers, sandalwood from the woody part of the plant.  The oil can be extracted from the plant using various methods and the rest is highly concentrated aromatic oil.

I can’t really remember which essentials oils I purchased first but I do own quite a few.

Why do I love them so much? Well I love their ability to  “take my breath away” … it is like being transported to smell heaven. I also love essential oils  for their many of health benefits. Just yesterday I woke up with a severe sore throat, my head felt congested and nose was clogged and I felt like a mess.  I filled the tub with some hot water, add some rosemary, eucalyptus, tea tree and lavender essential oils and climbed in Aahhh!! A hot bath with aromatic essential oils…you can’t beat that. I took a long soak and by the time I got out of the tub, my head and nose felt clear and I felt much better.

I use essential oil a lot especially during the winter to keep germs away. I use them at bath time to calm the kids down after a long day  and I love body butter, creams or soaps that have being scented with pure essential oils…not fragrances which are synthetic and for some reason gives me headaches.

Many of us are accustomed to relying on over the counter drugs to solve many of our ailments but did you know that essential oils can be used to ease many everyday ailments? For example peppermint and lavender are great for headaches, eucalyptus, ginger, lemon, rosemary for colds,  peppermint and rosemary for joint pain.

While essential oils offer a lot of health benefits, they should be used with caution. Some essential oils should not be used while pregnant or on babies and other like cinnamon may irritate the skin. Essential oils should be diluted in a vegetable oil otherwise known as a carrier oil before using on the skin.

4 Responses to “My love affair with Essential Oils”

  1. sarah sprouse July 12, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Did you find any that helped with the adenoids? My 2yr has terribly large adenoids, the ENT wants to remove them (along with his tonsils if I’ll do both – which I won’t). We’ve taken him off dairy and the constant sinus drainage stopped, but he still mouth breathes and I think has some sleep apnea. I’d love to hear if you found any oils that helped. Thanks!!!

    • naturalpureessentials July 12, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      We started using eucalyptus to help her breathe but shortly after we started using it, someone recommended a great naturopathy Dr who
      gave her pulsatilla along with some other homeopathic medicine which cleared everything up within 2 weeks…she had problems breathing as well. We also took her off dairy and wheat since that was the trigger for the swelling. Also the herb cleavers which I found out later is great for swollen adenoids and tonsil. You can get it from herb pharm. I also do red clover and nettle tea with burdock root whenever they eat anything with dairy. Hope this helps and good luck.

  2. sarah sprouse July 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks! That does help. We are grain-free at home but I do think I need to be stricter with him when we are out to see if his adenoids will return ot a more normal size. I had been considering a naturopath so glad to know that helped. Appreciate the quick response!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AlternativeKim - February 16, 2012

    […] My love affair with Essential Oils (naturalpureessentials.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

