Baltic Amber Teething Necklcace- Do They Work?

7 Dec

Raw amber teething necklace

Teething can be hard on babies. Some babies may go through the teething stage without any problems while others experience a lot of pain, fever, diaper rash, vomiting. Many moms are now looking for natural ways to soothe their babies without having to rely on baby Tylenol since teething last for a long time. While there are many natural ways to soothe a little one while teething, such as using a natural teethers,  hyland teething tables, chamomilla, I have totally fallen in love with Baltic amber teething necklace.

Amber necklace is relatively new to us in the US but not to Europe. Europeans have being using Baltic amber teething necklace for centuries to  soothe the babies.  Amber beads contain succinic acid, a substance that is present in both mammals and plants so I like the idea of using it as it is not a foreign substance.

Does Amber Teething Necklace Work?

Many people dismiss amber necklaces as  fake but they are not. Succinic acid  is present in living tissues including humans and plays a central role in providing oxygen to the cells within our bodies. Succinic acid is used in several fields including the medical field to treat mitochondrial disorder, anemia since its supplies the bodies cell with oxygen and is used also as sedative.

I cannot claimed to understand how amber works but one of the most noticable difference since my daughter started wearing  hers is NO Drooling. Some how she manages to be putting out 2 molars and 2 other teeth without drooling. I recently saw in a forum where a mom said her pediatrician says that amber as a drying effect on the body which might explain the no drooling. I have also noticed that she doesn’t get very cranky when the teeth are coming out but still wants to be held….I can take wanting to be held any day over cranky. Also I haven’t had to use any chamomilla or hylands teethingtablets.

I have forgotten to put the necklace on her once for 2 days and she got so irritable and that she wouldn’t sleep. I sent my hubby out at 11pm to get some Tylenol for her. After he left, I realized that she wasn’t wearing her necklace so I put the necklace back on, nursed her in our boba carrier and she finally went to sleep.  The next day she was fine so we return the Tylenol.

I know there is not much research done on amber necklace but that is always the case when it comes to natural alternative medicine or treatment as there is no money to be made so no one pays attention to it. I know there is no one solution to any problem but this was money well spent for me.

3 Responses to “Baltic Amber Teething Necklcace- Do They Work?”

  1. Emily February 10, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Another great, natural teething aide is liquid clorophyll. Just dip a q-tip in and let the baby suck it off. Not sure how it works…but it works! It does stain clothing though, so put a bib on and don’t be surprised if they have green tinted poop. You can find it at health food stores/Whole Foods, usually in the “internal deoderizer” section.

  2. Nesbi Maret H March 17, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Hi!
    My girls are 5 and 3 now, I used Baltic and Mexican amber, they never drooled or had gum inflammation. I do think it works. Have a great day.

    • naturalpureessentials March 18, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      Never heard of the Mexican amber necklace. We have 2 Baltic amber necklace for our girls and you are right, it stops the drooling and inflammation. Love that we don’t have to use pain killers.

Leave a comment